Author Topic: ESA Calibration?  (Read 4508 times)

snugdad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
ESA Calibration?
« on: August 16, 2013, 02:34:37 PM »
I installed the latest beta version and have been playing around a bit. I have a 2006 1200 RT with ESA.  When I bring up the ESA calibration screen I get a message indicated my model is not supported (don't remember the exact text).  Are there only certain BMW models/years that support this feature? Thanks.
Al

snugdad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ESA Calibration?
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2013, 02:40:36 PM »
Having thought about it I may be answering my own question.  When I tried this I had the key on but the bike was not running.  I'm thinking it would make sense that the bike needs to be started to perform this calibration.  Yes?

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 571
  • Karma: +40/-2
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: ESA Calibration?
« Reply #2 on: August 16, 2013, 09:32:43 PM »
I don't think it really matters whether the motor is running or not.

What is really essential is ESA suspension.  I somehow don't think that the 2006 has ESA fitted.  AFAIK ESA was only fitted from 2007.

You can easily determine whether you have it fitted by lifting the seat and inspecting the rear shock.  Do you have the servo motor attached to the shock or not?  If not, you have the standard suspension and no ESA calibration is possible.

Post an Autoscan, which will also reveal whether it's fitted or not.
« Last Edit: August 16, 2013, 10:00:00 PM by Jughead »

snugdad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ESA Calibration?
« Reply #3 on: August 16, 2013, 09:56:13 PM »
The bike definitely has ESA (I've owned it since it was new).  The rear shock/spring has the servo motor which I've verified numerous times over the years by pushing the ESA button to change the settings.  Autoscan does not make mention of it however.  I'm wondering if only later versions of ESA are supported.

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 571
  • Karma: +40/-2
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: ESA Calibration?
« Reply #4 on: August 16, 2013, 10:03:04 PM »
Cool

I'm sure if you attach your autoscan, Stephan or Kobus will be able to tell you whether it is supported or not, and also which systems are supported.


snugdad

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ESA Calibration?
« Reply #5 on: August 16, 2013, 10:05:13 PM »
Autoscan attached. TIA
Al

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 571
  • Karma: +40/-2
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: ESA Calibration?
« Reply #6 on: August 23, 2013, 09:45:42 PM »
It would appear that the RT has a very similar setup to the K series in this thread:

http://forum.hexcode.co.za/forum/index.php/topic,139.msg827.html#msg827
« Last Edit: September 12, 2013, 03:17:28 PM by Jughead »

tabasco911

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ESA Calibration?
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2013, 03:03:50 PM »
I just got the same message with a 2005 RT that defiantly has ESA.