Author Topic: Anyone use GS-911 diagnostics on linux? Through Crossover?  (Read 4708 times)

Waged3413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Anyone use GS-911 diagnostics on linux? Through Crossover?
« on: October 11, 2023, 02:13:13 AM »
Hello, all.  New GS-911wifi owner interested to see if anyone has run the necessary software on linux.  I searched a few different terms and found no hits via the forum's search function.

I still have a very ancient (EDIT: Windows Vista END EDIT) laptop around, but it's _so_ old and slow to boot or run software, and the battery is shot so must be plugged into power at all times, that I'd _really_ rather use my iMac or my linux machine if that's possible.

If it's not, okay, but I see someone using Parallels on a Macbook, so thought I'd inquire.

Thanks!
« Last Edit: October 16, 2023, 09:28:37 PM by Waged3413 »

WayneC

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1468
  • Karma: +33/-1
Re: Anyone use GS-911 diagnostics on linux? Through Crossover?
« Reply #1 on: October 11, 2023, 02:35:58 AM »
Simply set up a Win7 or Win10 Virtual Machine with VBox or VMware on the Linux System

It is still possible to use a W7 activation code to activate W10 at no cost on multiboot systems
« Last Edit: October 11, 2023, 02:39:51 AM by WayneC »

Waged3413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Anyone use GS-911 diagnostics on linux? Through Crossover?
« Reply #2 on: October 11, 2023, 02:46:13 AM »
It is still possible to use a W7 activation code to activate W10 at no cost on multiboot systems

I was unaware that was ever possible.  I have had a Win7 DVD and license key for years, and I _may_ have _not_ thrown it out a few weeks ago.  If I still have it, I'll see if the interwebs will show me a Win10 install image somewhere, and try my Win7 activation key on it.

Thanks.
« Last Edit: October 11, 2023, 02:47:56 AM by Waged3413 »

WayneC

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1468
  • Karma: +33/-1
Re: Anyone use GS-911 diagnostics on linux? Through Crossover?
« Reply #3 on: October 11, 2023, 02:59:39 AM »
It is still possible to use a W7 activation code to activate W10 at no cost on multiboot systems

I was unaware that was ever possible.  I have had a Win7 DVD and license key for years, and I _may_ have _not_ thrown it out a few weeks ago.  If I still have it, I'll see if the interwebs will show me a Win10 install image somewhere, and try my Win7 activation key on it.

Thanks.

M$ allowed the use of W7 keys back at the intro of W10, I thought they stopped it but found they quietly left it in place, on a native (not VM) install you simply run the W10 install from USB or DVD as normal then enter the W7 key to activate, I have set up the systems I use for diags as dual boot & do W7 install first then W10 as 2nd install, W10 will often automatically find the W7 key & if BIOS has a W7 key auto adopt it but not always
« Last Edit: October 11, 2023, 03:01:14 AM by WayneC »

Waged3413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Anyone use GS-911 diagnostics on linux? Through Crossover?
« Reply #4 on: October 11, 2023, 03:03:18 AM »
Very interesting!

You think it'll work in a VM install, too (VirtualBox), or only natively?

Crossover doesn't recognize that the GS-911 is plugged into a USB port when I try to install the diagnostics program there, so it seems like that's a no-go, at least on my system.

WayneC

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1468
  • Karma: +33/-1
Re: Anyone use GS-911 diagnostics on linux? Through Crossover?
« Reply #5 on: October 11, 2023, 03:46:03 AM »
Very interesting!

You think it'll work in a VM install, too (VirtualBox), or only natively?

Crossover doesn't recognize that the GS-911 is plugged into a USB port when I try to install the diagnostics program there, so it seems like that's a no-go, at least on my system.

I run the older GS911 App on a VBox WInXP VM & use USB connection without issues, I have not set up a W7 VM for the new GS911 Diagnostics App as I have the other test systems with W7/W10 dual boot I use for a variety of purposes & use VNC into them rather than having to have kybd/mouse/monitors on them
« Last Edit: October 11, 2023, 03:48:02 AM by WayneC »

Waged3413

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Anyone use GS-911 diagnostics on linux? Through Crossover?
« Reply #6 on: October 16, 2023, 09:26:32 PM »
Wish I could locate a copy of the older software.  I found the Win7 DVD, but it won't install into VirtualBox.  The installer complains about a missing driver.  The disc is slightly scratched in one area, so maybe it can't read.

So, all I have is an ANCIENT Vista machine which I mistakenly had recalled to be a Win8 machine (but it is not).