Author Topic: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??  (Read 18007 times)

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 768
  • Karma: +51/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« on: September 17, 2015, 01:09:34 PM »
Anyone know which switch this refers to?  It is not the sidestand switch.

schuppi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2015, 02:39:19 PM »
Hi Jughead,
I think that this is the response from the controller, if the TPS adjustment is correct.
Please actuate the throttles and see what happens with this "idle switch" .
Will it go to OFF ?
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 768
  • Karma: +51/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2015, 03:17:46 PM »
Hi Jughead,
I think that this is the response from the controller, if the TPS adjustment is correct.
Please actuate the throttles and see what happens with this "idle switch" .
Will it go to OFF ?

Hi Schuppi

The error comes up regardless of where the throttle is positioned.  I have removed the TPS from the throttle body and have it just hanging free.  I have tried it at numerous positions and the error persists.

It will also not allow any adjustment.  As soon as you click on "Start", this comes up.
« Last Edit: September 17, 2015, 03:20:07 PM by Jughead »

schuppi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2015, 03:41:10 PM »
Hello,
in that case, the sensor will be out of the stored value in the ECU.

For example. Stored value for idle 0,4 -0,6 V (I dont know exactly the right value) >
TPS setting and learning is unlocked.

Ignition is on and power supply to the sensor is good? > YES, I think so.
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 768
  • Karma: +51/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2015, 04:08:18 PM »
Hello,
in that case, the sensor will be out of the stored value in the ECU.

For example. Stored value for idle 0,4 -0,6 V (I dont know exactly the right value) >
TPS setting and learning is unlocked.

Ignition is on and power supply to the sensor is good? > YES, I think so.

Yes, ignition is on and sensor is good.  I have even used a sensor from a nicely running bike.  Same result.

I have adjusted the sensor to give me .36V on a Fluke digital MM, but even so, the "switch" remains on, and the adjustment feature fails.

schuppi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2015, 04:24:28 PM »
Let me have a look on a comparable bike in the evening 8)
I'll tell so :)
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 768
  • Karma: +51/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #6 on: September 17, 2015, 04:33:46 PM »
Thanks Schuppi!

schuppi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #7 on: September 17, 2015, 11:41:46 PM »
 :)Here I am 8)

Your measurement > TPS position 3,52° and idle switch on
Mine                       > TPS position 0,32° and idle switch off

so I took the multimeter:
brown        > earth > to throttlebody > 0,01 Ohm
white         > potentiometer 1  > 0,01 V to 4,7 V by turning the throttle
green        > supply from ECU 4,9 V
white/red  > potentiometer 2 > when basic setting is right / green, shown by GS911 > 0,33 V to 4,8 V

Hope this will help to fix this problem
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 768
  • Karma: +51/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #8 on: September 18, 2015, 10:30:44 AM »
:)Here I am 8)

Your measurement > TPS position 3,52° and idle switch on
Mine                       > TPS position 0,32° and idle switch off

so I took the multimeter:
brown        > earth > to throttlebody > 0,01 Ohm
white         > potentiometer 1  > 0,01 V to 4,7 V by turning the throttle
green        > supply from ECU 4,9 V
white/red  > potentiometer 2 > when basic setting is right / green, shown by GS911 > 0,33 V to 4,8 V

Hope this will help to fix this problem

Thank Schuppi

I tried playing around with the TPS last night.  I could get the TPS position down to 0,14°, but at no stage could I get the switch to the off status.

I could get the full voltage range from .01V to 4.86 by moving the TPS from one extreme to the other.

I eventually adjusted it by ear to a point where the motor idled smoothly. 

From what you said earlier, "in that case, the sensor will be out of the stored value in the ECU.

For example. Stored value for idle 0,4 -0,6 V (I dont know exactly the right value) >
TPS setting and learning is unlocked."
it would appear that the adjustment is not possible unless the TPS is adjusted correctly.  That kind of makes the adjustment function redundant.

schuppi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #9 on: September 18, 2015, 11:04:29 AM »
"I could get the TPS position down to 0,14°, but at no stage could I get the switch to the off status."

Hello
Did you measured all wiring from TPS to ECU? Whats about the two Potentiometer cables?  white and white/red
Did you measured the resistance of the two potentiometers, did they change their values evenly?
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 768
  • Karma: +51/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #10 on: September 18, 2015, 11:38:07 AM »
"I could get the TPS position down to 0,14°, but at no stage could I get the switch to the off status."

Hello
Did you measured all wiring from TPS to ECU? Whats about the two Potentiometer cables?  white and white/red  No, did not check continuity.
Did you measured the resistance of the two potentiometers, did they change their values evenly?  Yes, both pots appeared to work 100%.  Even used a known good from from another running bike.
« Last Edit: September 21, 2015, 11:26:02 AM by Jughead »

schuppi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #11 on: September 18, 2015, 01:16:50 PM »
  8)ONE MORE chance ;)

Did you try to disconnect the ECU from wiring, wait some minutes and run the adaption again?
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 768
  • Karma: +51/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #12 on: September 18, 2015, 03:17:45 PM »
  8)ONE MORE chance ;)

Did you try to disconnect the ECU from wiring, wait some minutes and run the adaption again?

Yip.

schuppi

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 557
  • Karma: +21/-0
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #13 on: September 18, 2015, 03:59:22 PM »
so, if i unplugged the TPS, my GS911 switched to 3.6° and idle switch on.

That is the same result as you posted. In my opinion, there is something wrong with power supply
or response.
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 768
  • Karma: +51/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: HELP PLEASE - R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« Reply #14 on: September 19, 2015, 11:35:34 AM »
Thanks for the assistance Schuppi

I had to send the bike out without using the GS911 to adjust the TPS.  I just adjusted it by ear till it was running smoothly.
The client rode it from PE to Cape Town, a distance of around 900km.  When he arrived in Cape Town he sent me an sms, saying he is very happy with the bike and it has never run so well.  ;D

So, I will leave well enough alone for now.  I have another 1100RT in the shop that requires a new clutch.  Once that is done I will check the TPS on that one and see if it can be adjusted.