Author Topic: R1150GSA Idle Switch??  (Read 5846 times)

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +46/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
R1150GSA Idle Switch??
« on: September 17, 2015, 06:48:35 AM »
I tried adjusting the TPS on an '03 R1150GSA yesterday.  I can however not get past this error.  Anyone know what "Idle Switch" this error is referring to?
« Last Edit: September 17, 2015, 01:08:06 PM by Jughead »

mike d

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: R1150GSA Idle Switch
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2015, 09:50:15 AM »
The position of the TPS is critical to the ECU which uses its 'zero'(idle) position to determine the mixture. From that reference point, as the throttle is opened the voltage output from the TPS changes, and the ECU uses this as one of the inputs for further determining the mixture.

On the early K series the TPS was just an on/off switch, but the later models the TPS varies over its whole range.

I would suspect either a badly adjusted TPS to start with, or it is damaged such that the voltage output is missing, or the wiring from the TPS to the ECU is damaged.

Mike 

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +46/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: R1150GSA Idle Switch
« Reply #2 on: September 17, 2015, 10:27:42 AM »
Thanks Mike

I have tried to adjust the TPS manually to give me .36V across pin 1 and 4.  In that position, the bike won't idle and regularly coughs from the LHS intake.

I have tried another TPS from a nicely running 1150 and the problem persists.

mike d

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 128
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: R1150GSA Idle Switch
« Reply #3 on: September 17, 2015, 10:38:53 AM »
If the TPS is manually set to 0.36v it should at least 'pass' the TPS test with the GS-911. Sounds like the ECU is not seeing the output perhaps, so has no reference point, especially as a known good TPS is also not working (did that also fail the GS-911 set up test)?

Mike

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +46/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: R1150GSA Idle Switch
« Reply #4 on: September 17, 2015, 11:09:22 AM »
If the TPS is manually set to 0.36v it should at least 'pass' the TPS test with the GS-911. Sounds like the ECU is not seeing the output perhaps, so has no reference point, especially as a known good TPS is also not working (did that also fail the GS-911 set up test)?

Mike

Yes, it did.

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 714
  • Karma: +46/-3
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: R1150GSA Idle Switch
« Reply #5 on: September 17, 2015, 12:59:40 PM »
Under Realtime Values, the Idle Switch is indicated as being on.