Author Topic: ESA Reset Question  (Read 5160 times)

tabasco911

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
ESA Reset Question
« on: August 28, 2013, 01:30:16 PM »
A freind recently bought new ESA shocks, Wilbers maybe? for his early model RT. I think it was the first year for the 1200RT, Anyway after installing the new shocks the the EAS would not work. He sent the shocks back to where he bought them to be checked out and the supplier said the shocks were good and sent pictures of the shock under test. He was told the he would have to go to a BMW  dealer to have the ESA reprogrammed. My RT does not have ESA so I am not that familiar with the system but could an ESA calibration with the GS911 fix this problem or is it firmware  on the motorcycle needs to be changed. Any advice appreciated.

bikecrazy5

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 53
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: ESA Reset Question
« Reply #1 on: August 28, 2013, 09:56:26 PM »
hi i have replaced spring struts and only had  do a recalibration.Thus said all the struts i have done  is bmw.so if it is original esa motor i would presume a calibration would work

StephanT

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +17/-2
    • HEXcode
Re: ESA Reset Question
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2013, 10:28:47 PM »
the only thing BMW can do is a recalibration... just like we do...

if your friend had GS-911 he could:
a) had read the fault codes and checked the realtime values on the ESA, and
b) done a recalibration

best,
Stephan

tabasco911

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ESA Reset Question
« Reply #3 on: September 12, 2013, 03:01:23 PM »
Update on ESA reset.
The motorcycle is a 2005 RT with ESA. The owner replaced original shocks with wilbers and afterwards the shock would not work. There was no fault code. We tried recalibration with the GS911 but we got a message that ESA not found or supported on the model. We tried several time but same message. Once, Before the could not find ,message came up my friend clicked on the recalibrate rear icon and you could hear the shock motor running. Afterward we the message that ESA not found etc. however, now the shock remote preload works. Must be issues in the GS911 recalibration software to be worked out.


StephanT

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +17/-2
    • HEXcode
Re: ESA Reset Question
« Reply #4 on: September 14, 2013, 01:44:18 PM »
I doubt it... but... let's be scientific about this...

send us a support ticket with:
  • a complete AutoScan
  • a screenshot of the error or warning you're getting

..and then we'll take it from there...

best,
Stephan


tabasco911

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: ESA Reset Question
« Reply #5 on: September 16, 2013, 01:37:16 PM »
My freinds live in another state and I do not know when we will be able to visit again and get the GS-911 connected to his RT again. I will certainly send the autoscan when I am able.

Thanks
Mike