Author Topic: Miles to Km conversion  (Read 12220 times)

WarthogARJ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Miles to Km conversion
« on: August 28, 2013, 12:56:16 PM »
Hi,
A fellow HP2 owner wants to switch his speedo from mph to km/h and I suggested the GS-911 since it now does that. I also said he will benefit from its other features.

How does it handle the conversion from miles to km on the odometer? Does it convert the existing number as well as change the units from that point on?
I looked on the forum for anything on this and didn't see.
If I missed something in the manual sorry.

Alan

StephanT

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +17/-2
    • HEXcode
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #1 on: September 04, 2013, 03:40:46 PM »
this will change mls to km in the odo and trip

try it... you can always set it back...

WarthogARJ

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #2 on: September 04, 2013, 06:52:58 PM »
OK thanks.
And sure, why not.

Plima

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #3 on: September 09, 2013, 08:44:11 PM »
this will change mls to km in the odo and trip

try it... you can always set it back...

Any chances that we will eventually be able to change the other imperial units to metric? E.g. Temperature and fuel consumption.

StephanT

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +17/-2
    • HEXcode
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #4 on: September 11, 2013, 04:08:09 PM »
absolutely... as we stated when we released this functionality, this is/was only a concept test for the implementation of the other functionality...


Plima

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #5 on: September 11, 2013, 05:05:03 PM »
Thanks Stephan. THis is great news.


Glutterbeast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #6 on: September 11, 2013, 05:59:50 PM »
I recently used this function on my S1000RR on a trip into Canada. It worked well, but I noticed that it did reset my clock on the bike also. Changed the time when I went from Kilo to miles and it did it again when I changed it back. Not sure if this was my error, bumbling around in the interface, or the device. Thought I would bring it up....Otherwise, the switch works great!

StephanT

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +17/-2
    • HEXcode
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #7 on: September 12, 2013, 10:40:11 PM »
not an error of any sorts... on some clusters the cluster has to be reset for the coding change to take effect...


Glutterbeast

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #8 on: September 13, 2013, 04:09:54 AM »
Good to know, thank you!

justscootin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2014, 08:23:19 PM »
On my cluster I have the main odometer and a trip A and a Trip B, I would like to change just the trip B to miles and leave the main odometer as KM and the trip A as KM can this be done

kobus

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 180
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • GS-911
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #10 on: April 30, 2014, 04:27:32 PM »
On my cluster I have the main odometer and a trip A and a Trip B, I would like to change just the trip B to miles and leave the main odometer as KM and the trip A as KM can this be done
No, the cluster can only use one distance display unit at a time.
---
R1200GS Adventure (personal weapon of choice)
... and then the company fleet.

justscootin

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 18
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2014, 05:57:06 PM »
So now I was playing around with my gs911
I ask how do you do this change miles to kms conversion I can't figure it out

I ride a c650 gt

« Last Edit: May 16, 2014, 06:02:10 PM by justscootin »

att2008vn@gmail.com

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #12 on: October 07, 2015, 08:52:39 AM »
Hi,

Can we do this ocnversion on GSLC with the new software release yet ??

Thanks

at

kobus

  • Administrator
  • Full Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 180
  • Karma: +11/-1
    • GS-911
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2015, 03:11:29 PM »
We do not support coding changes on the K51 (GS LC) yet.
---
R1200GS Adventure (personal weapon of choice)
... and then the company fleet.

fotodadi

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 48
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Miles to Km conversion
« Reply #14 on: December 17, 2015, 01:02:30 PM »
Waiting for this too ;-)

Yet makes us hopeful!!!