Author Topic: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank  (Read 18633 times)

Greyscout

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #15 on: August 21, 2015, 11:20:39 AM »
Hi Greyscout,

Welcome to the  GS-911 forum.

Hopefully the guys will chip in again to get the RT sorted.

Mike

Mike

Thank you  8) especially for the hours you have been dedicating to help me get this sorted. The more heads that look at this the more likely we are to find the solution.

G

Greyscout

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #16 on: August 21, 2015, 02:37:41 PM »
Update

A second hand ZFE turned up today - it has solved all of the issues except the ABS not running. However I think I know why this is happening now. If you look at the screen shot below it shows the difference between the factory and the actual I-Levels. I am guessing that the 04 and 09 refer to respective years. The ABS system on mine is the same as the old R1150RT and I am almost certain that BMW went to a new system around 2009. So I suspect that the only reason the ABSisnt responding now is because the software in the new ZFE is for a different system.

The bike is going to my local BMW dealership this afternoon to have the ZFE recoded fingers crossed that will solve the problem entirely.

« Last Edit: August 21, 2015, 11:58:27 PM by Greyscout »

WayneC

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Karma: +18/-1
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #17 on: August 21, 2015, 02:43:01 PM »
Well that is good news, pleased to hear there is progress, the ABS coding does seem logical to me

mike d

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #18 on: August 21, 2015, 03:23:10 PM »
Nearly there!

The factory level is from when the bike was first released, and the actual is updated whenever the bike has had a new software revision. The ZFE may well have been from an earlier bike, but had an update in 2009.

Good luck at the dealers.


Mike

WayneC

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Karma: +18/-1
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #19 on: August 21, 2015, 03:30:25 PM »
I cant see the pic and info with the actual iLevels, if I was able to see it I could perhaps look up the dates etc for you  ;D

Greyscout

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #20 on: August 21, 2015, 11:59:34 PM »
I cant see the pic and info with the actual iLevels, if I was able to see it I could perhaps look up the dates etc for you  ;D

Sorry Wayne my bad - I have updated the post with the image now.

WayneC

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Karma: +18/-1
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #21 on: August 22, 2015, 04:32:21 AM »
I checked and the K024-09-02-500 iLevel is from around the beginning of 2009

There would probably have been an iLevel on the individual ECU's in the report which could be compared to the iLevel of the ZFE you purchased

mike d

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #22 on: August 22, 2015, 01:00:15 PM »
Greyscout has opened up the old ZFE and there is a lot of corrosion, I'm suer he will post the photos on hear for all to see.

Mike

WayneC

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Karma: +18/-1
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #23 on: August 22, 2015, 01:14:02 PM »
Tell him to get some isopropyl alcohol and a soft toothbrush and gently clean both sides of the pcb.  What I have found with modules is their voltage regulators have aggressive over current protection and shut down to protect the ECU. The dirt and corrosion can cause leakage currents

Greyscout

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #24 on: August 22, 2015, 03:00:43 PM »
Well as Mike said - I was curious so I took inside the ZFE. It's in a bad way !

I've repaired PCBs in a similar sort of condition in the past, I am hopeful that the damage has been confined to the power supply side as the unit stands almost vertical on the bike. As always with this sort of thing though the risk of voltages tracking across is there and there may already be sensitive components damaged. As Wayne says though - worth a shot and if it works I have a spare ZFE !!

Thanks to everyone on here for their help and input ad I really think it is worth saying that without the assistance of the GS911 from Mike - I doubt I would ever have been able to trace the fault. So thumbs up to the Hexcode team for designing and building it and BMW UK for lending it to me.

Mike - the coffees, cakes and biscuits are definitely on me at the next meet !

G





WayneC

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Karma: +18/-1
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #25 on: August 22, 2015, 03:13:13 PM »
Well you have your work cut out for you, there certainly is some corrosion and damage there, there are times BMW just does not do proper sealing of the assemblies. Water getting past an O-Ring was the failure cause on the original K-Series ECUs, the Oz Service Manager had me take a look at the time

Still it is worth a try to see how it looks after a clean up. I did a 650GS dash repair tonight, all working and owner rather pleased to hear it

Perhaps it is time to buy your own GS911, rather handy out on the road, saves a lot of time  ;D
« Last Edit: August 22, 2015, 03:16:03 PM by WayneC »

mike d

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 71
  • Karma: +3/-0
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #26 on: August 22, 2015, 04:13:16 PM »
Graham,

I was glad to help out.

So once you get it re-coded, we'll be back sorting the 1150 out

Mike

Greyscout

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #27 on: August 22, 2015, 11:04:23 PM »
It is a multi layer PCB and the corrosion and tracking has eaten away at the copper tracks, in some places it appears to have also gone through to the next layer. I've done the best I can with a photo here - but I will get better ones from the microscope at wok on Monday.
The PCB wont come away from the black plastic unit. The two ends are free but it is held firmly in the middle where the multi connectors go. It is possible that these would have to be de soldered before the cover can be removed, but whatever they have used to solder the PCB, my soldering iron wont even look at it, must be very high temp stuff they have used.

[URL=http://s11.photobucket.com/user/Pungushe/media/R1200RT/DSC_0154_zpsd1fdpnbl.jpg.html][/URL]

Greyscout

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #28 on: August 26, 2015, 12:48:59 PM »
OK update to this thread. 2009 model ZFE fitted to the bike and now recoded by BMW for £36.00

All faults have now gone and everything operates as it should. The only minor observation (see below) is that the GS911 doesn't recognise the Actual I-Level programmed in.
ZFE-High
ZFE type: ZFE-High
Factory I-Level: K024-04-11-510
Actual I-Level: Unknown I-Level:0x88
Part No.: 7718037
Hardware Index: 02
Coding Index: 09
Manufacture Date (YY/MM/DD): 2004-04-15
MCV: 0.6.0
FSV: 2.2.1
OSV: 3.3.0
Manufacturer: Loewe Lear
HWOE No.: 25911822
Factory I-Level: K024-04-11-510
Actual I-Level: Unknown I-Level:0x88
   Speed sensor manufacturer is Beru 
   Speed sensor type is DF11 
   ABS fitted 
   Heated grips 
   Heated seat driver 
   Heated seat passenger 
   Outside temperature sensor 
   Film type fuel sensor 
   Manual low beam off switch 
   Storage of temperature indication when engine hot 
   Electronic windscreen present 



No fault codes found

WayneC

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 949
  • Karma: +18/-1
Re: R1200RT Instrument Cluster Blank
« Reply #29 on: August 26, 2015, 01:07:41 PM »
Pleased to hear the update and that all is working, now get out there and ride it  ;D