Author Topic: R1200ST Mileage displays "999999"  (Read 3736 times)

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 583
  • Karma: +40/-2
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
R1200ST Mileage displays "999999"
« on: July 24, 2015, 10:06:11 AM »
I have a client with a 2005 R1200ST.  Although the actual mileage is around 48000, the mileage display reads "999999"

GS911 doesn't pick up any errors, although the autoscan picks up the mileage as "16777215.0km"

Any ideas?

Attached is the autoscan.

schuppi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: R1200ST Mileage displays "999999"
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2015, 02:28:18 PM »
Hello Jughead

That seems cryptic  :-\ Do you remember the CAN-BUS errors written by ciri
http://forum.hexcode.co.za/forum/index.php/topic,862.msg3636.html#msg3636

There is the same mileage stored.  I think you have to replace the Kombi. :-[
But please check the Can-Bus !
37658: CAN signal invalid for distance pulse counter
There are to many signals for the counter, so just it's overload.
« Last Edit: July 27, 2015, 10:42:03 AM by schuppi »
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

schuppi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 376
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: R1200ST Mileage displays "999999"
« Reply #2 on: July 27, 2015, 02:41:09 PM »
Hello Jughead,

found this by searching for odometer shows 999999 km.
I think you can give this a try.

Try this. Disconnect the negative cable with the key in the ignition. Turn key to position "Ignition on", stay there for a minute or more and then turn key to off position. Then hook up negative cable.  8)
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 583
  • Karma: +40/-2
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: R1200ST Mileage displays "999999"
« Reply #3 on: July 28, 2015, 01:52:34 PM »
Thank you Schuppi.

The bike returned to me today and tried what you suggested.  It did however not resolve the issue.

I did notice though that the error is back and that, despite the fact that the bike has done about 700km in the interim, the mileage still sits on 16777215.0 as per the previous autoscan.

Engenia

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: R1200ST Mileage displays "999999"
« Reply #4 on: July 28, 2015, 02:40:42 PM »
the mileage still sits on 16777215.0 as per the previous autoscan.
The memory is probably using 24 bits to store the mileage. 2^24 = 16777216, one more than you are reading. This is the absolute maximum that the mileage counter will record before it returns to zero. Curiously, the display can't present this number, stopping at only 999999.
Your problem is that these bits are stuck high, so it's either the memory chip or its CAN bus interface. If you can't debug the Dash (I assume that's what you refer to as a Kombi) you are going to have to replace it.

OomD

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 12
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: R1200ST Mileage displays "999999"
« Reply #5 on: July 29, 2015, 02:42:22 PM »
Thank you Schuppi.

The bike returned to me today and tried what you suggested.  It did however not resolve the issue.

I did notice though that the error is back and that, despite the fact that the bike has done about 700km in the interim, the mileage still sits on 16777215.0 as per the previous autoscan.
Jughead, just a wild guess here. On automotive comms systems in general a very large +ve (or negative number close to 0) is used to indicate an error condition, or to indicate that the value is not available. For example, when you query the ECU it returns "-2" as the odometer value, but the scantool you are using incorrectly interprets this as an unsigned number, which would give you the result you see for a 24-bit number.

So, the odo might actually read as "-2" to indicate an error condition. This could also be why the display just shows 9's, as it cannot determine the actual odometer value.

I could be wrong, though. That's just how they do it on the J1939 CAN bus, used in trucks. I realise this does not help you solve the problem, I'm just throwing this out there.