Author Topic: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC  (Read 24443 times)

Inspector Gadget

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #15 on: September 15, 2017, 05:44:47 PM »
« Last Edit: September 15, 2017, 05:58:46 PM by Inspector Gadget »

BALVIAMBE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #16 on: September 23, 2017, 05:44:22 PM »
hi,
buy ts 401 which reads the id and show you if thw=e sensor is ok or damage.
 i am using and it woks the best for bmw r1200gs on my bike.

gs-riders

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #17 on: October 03, 2017, 03:29:11 PM »
Hi, how did you get the TS401 to read the sensor on a R1200gs? In mine it only has cars in the menu and can't get it to read the sensors

BALVIAMBE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #18 on: October 03, 2017, 03:42:05 PM »
Hi everyone .
bmw r1200gs 2016 model.
job done by using autel ts 401.
upgrade to new firmware.
use either vehicle selection on ts 401.

US/CN Saturn Astra 2010/01-2010/12 315MHz
US/CN Saturn Astra 2008/01-2009/12 433MHz
US/CN Saturn Astra 2010/01-2010/12 433MHz

it took 3 sec to read id and all info from the sensor.
so u know whether the sensor is ok or not.
THE REST IS DONE BY GS911 WIFI.

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 571
  • Karma: +40/-2
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #19 on: October 03, 2017, 04:03:24 PM »
Using the Ateq VT30, you select "BMW Motorcycle;D

gs-riders

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #20 on: October 04, 2017, 02:11:26 PM »
Thanks for your reply Balviambe, think I must have bought dud Chinese senors bought 3 different ones from 2 different sellers and can't get any of them to work. Using the Saturn Astra on my 401, I can read the genuine BMW sensors no problem but it just keeps saying "Senor trigged but cannot be known" on my TS401 with the cheap eBay ones.

Might buy some Autel MX-Senors and see if I can clone my genuine ones so I can have two sets of wheels without all the headaches.

BALVIAMBE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #21 on: October 04, 2017, 02:42:45 PM »
HI
I ORDERED THE SENSOR FROM EBAY Chinese senors AND HAD TO REPLACE BOTH THE BATTERIES AND THEY READ PERFECT.
MY FRIEND HAS R1200 GSA WITH ORIGINAL SENSOR AND ALSO THOSE READ IN 3 SEC'S
PUT THE TS 401 IN LINE WITH VALVE WHERE THE WHEEL RIM ENDS AND TIRE STARTS.
IT WON'T READ FROM VALVE STEM ON TOP. PUT IT ON SIDE WALL OF TIRE.
USE
 US/CN Saturn Astra 2008/01-2009/12 433MHz
US/CN Saturn Astra 2010/01-2010/12 433MHz
BOTH WORKED FOR R1200GS 2016 MODEL.

DID U UPDATE THE TOOL FOR LATEST FIRMWARE. I THINK IT IS V5

gs-riders

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #22 on: October 04, 2017, 03:41:06 PM »
Hi,

I take it your Chinese sensors were not reading properly either so you decided to change the batteries and now they are working fine?

I updated my 401 yesterday so I think I have the most recent version? It says on the tool information page,

Burn date 05/26/17
S/W Ver 3.12,
H/W Ver 3.0,
Sensor Ver 4.07.06.
 
Should I have a different version?  Sorry for all the questions.

BALVIAMBE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #23 on: October 04, 2017, 03:55:55 PM »

this sensor lie in stores so battries die.
Boss just change the batteries they will work
cr2032 batteries.
open the black part of the sensor.
the batteries are welded with solder on both sides up and down. so be careful while opening.
check youtube how to change batteries of sensor the videos are they.

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 571
  • Karma: +40/-2
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #24 on: October 04, 2017, 04:10:39 PM »
check youtube how to change batteries of sensor the videos are they.

Be careful following the youtube videos!  They are at best real "Heath Robinson" attempts.

To do this successfully requires the epoxy/resin to be removed around the battery, the battery unsoldered and replaced with the correct one like this:



Attempting to remove the battery by other methods often results in the circuit board copper tracks being damages and broken.  I often have clients walking in "hat in hand", asking to repair their buggered circuit boards.

Do yourself a favour and do the job properly the first time.  You will have at least 2 more years of hassle free monitoring before the batteries require changing again.

BALVIAMBE

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 45
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #25 on: October 04, 2017, 04:24:17 PM »
this guy damaged the sensor by removing both clams of battery from sensor itself.
i managed to solder the first battery which came out with bottom plate now it is working fine.

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 571
  • Karma: +40/-2
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #26 on: October 04, 2017, 04:54:13 PM »
this guy damaged the sensor by removing both clams of battery from sensor itself.
i managed to solder the first battery which came out with bottom plate now it is working fine.

You cannot normally solder on the conventional CR2032.  If you do manage to get it right, the heat affects the battery and effectively destroys it.  It will possibly only last a few weeks before it is dead as well.

gs-riders

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #27 on: October 04, 2017, 07:02:30 PM »
Just wanted to confirm the Chinese sensors I bought from eBay did come with dead batteries in them. I opened them up and changed the batteries using standard Duracell 2032 battery and the TS401 read them within 5 seconds.

Couldn't have done this without the information on this page, so thanks one and all.....

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 571
  • Karma: +40/-2
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #28 on: October 04, 2017, 08:00:23 PM »
Just wanted to confirm the Chinese sensors I bought from eBay did come with dead batteries in them. I opened them up and changed the batteries using standard Duracell 2032 battery and the TS401 read them within 5 seconds.

Couldn't have done this without the information on this page, so thanks one and all.....

As a matter of interest.  How did you secure the new battery?

gs-riders

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Tyre Pressure TPMS / Wake-Up tool for RDC
« Reply #29 on: October 04, 2017, 08:39:33 PM »
I cut out just enough resin to get the battery out to make sure it would still be a tight fit. I then bent the top tap right down so when the new battery went in it was making contact, I then used a tiny bit of tape on it to keep the contact. I checked it was ok and working by using my Ts401 before using a hot glue gun to reseal it.