Author Topic: Adjusting turn signal parameters?  (Read 10625 times)

Mr. M

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
  • Karma: +0/-0
Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« on: May 04, 2013, 09:22:43 PM »
Hi,

Is it possible to adjust the turn-signal parameters. E.g. switching it off, changing the distance, etc.

Thanks, Marten
1150 GS, 2 xChallenge's, xCountry, R60-Steib 1954

StephanT

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +17/-2
    • HEXcode
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #1 on: May 05, 2013, 02:11:57 PM »
that is part of coding... we don't do that yet... I will post a thread some time as to what can be coded..

best,
Stephan

spyker

  • Beta testers
  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 15
  • Karma: +2/-0
    • My Personal Weather Station
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #2 on: May 05, 2013, 08:46:25 PM »
that is part of coding... we don't do that yet... I will post a thread some time as to what can be coded..

best,
Stephan

Yet? As in you are planning to?  ;D
1200GS - Yeah baby!!
650GS Dakar - Wifeys

StephanT

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +17/-2
    • HEXcode
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2013, 09:12:55 AM »
correct... it's all just a matter of time and resources...  :)

Inspector Gadget

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #4 on: July 12, 2013, 02:01:40 AM »
I will give you time, you plan for the resources.  ;)

I had my turn signal parameters adjusted by a BMW dealeRT but still it turns off often a wee bit too early.
(traffic lights, mostly)

I would give an arm and a leg to have something I can adjust myself.

But then I need both arms to give HexCode a hug once they come up with a solution.  ;D

StephanT

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +17/-2
    • HEXcode
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #5 on: July 12, 2013, 07:03:46 PM »
 :D

B4ndit

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 8
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #6 on: February 16, 2014, 10:23:16 PM »
Any update on the ability to do this.

Haakon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • Karma: +8/-1
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #7 on: February 16, 2014, 11:47:47 PM »
This MUST be miss from BMW.
If a timer is used it should NOT start if a brake is "active".
It should not start if the clutch is pulled.
It should not start if the bike is in neutral.
Guess that is to ask for the impossible  :)
-------------
 It is not difficult to make a small electronic circuit to solve this but not easy to hook up to the existing wiring.
2000 F650-GS

Inspector Gadget

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #8 on: February 17, 2014, 01:24:01 AM »
Unfortunately, the turn signal is directly attached to the ZFE, and it is all done in software in the ZFE, so no electronics in between that, I'm afraid.
A wee bit related: There is a Dutch company that developed something that does some fancy flashing with the turn signals but they do need to install diodes to avoid the ZFE acting up.
And even then it does not always work perfectly, I have understood.
So, for the turn-signals there is no amount of electronics that could resolve the basis of this thread's discussion, in that respect.

Even the BMW dealeRT has to use the BMW diagnostics to adjust the parameters (distance and/or time, yes there is a choice for either or both) for the turn signals.
Amongst a few other things they can adjust. (units for temperature, speedometer, 12/24 hour clock, various alarm settings, RDC units, to name a few that I know off)

I blessed the day I discovered the Kisan Signal Minder on my 1st BMW, and I still miss that on my R1200RT.

I agree it is an oversight of BMW not to make that more accessible for the R1200's, but I guess they went a wee bit overboard when they saw the potential of CAN-bus and the power of the ZFE.

I'm getting cramps keeping my fingers crossed that HexCode can find the time and resources for locate these parameters and devise a way we can adjust those ourselves via the GS911.
But I do keep faith!

Haakon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • Karma: +8/-1
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #9 on: February 17, 2014, 02:58:47 AM »
DutchMidiMan:
What I had in my (probably stupid) head was a signal delay circuit.
The right or left turn signal is given to the ZFE by a normal switch?
A simple electronic circuit could stop that signal untill the brake was "released"the clutch was released and the bike was "in gear- (not neutral.)   

That is what I did om MY bike- not ZFE   
2000 F650-GS

Inspector Gadget

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #10 on: February 17, 2014, 03:30:03 AM »
There are no stupid idea's in my book, only stupid responses.  ;)

But seriously, good question & suggestions;
Unfortunately, the switch-inputs (including brake, turn-signals) and the bulbs (brake, turn-signals, even headlights) are all directly connected to the ZFE.
There are no relays or other elaborate electronics in between those inputs nor outputs.

The ZFE is basically the controller who takes input (switches) and drives the output (the bulbs).

So, the only thing one could consider is to block the signal going to the bulbs, depending on the switches and, in this case, also the neutral light.
But obtaining that Neutral signal from that light won't be easy as that comes from the instrumentpanel, and that receives the neutral-signal, yep, indeed, via CAN-bus. (read: data-stream, kind of).

It won't be an easy task, and you won't be able to influence the turn-signals themselves (as these are driven by the ZFE) all but block the signal going to the turn-signals.
However, I do not know how CAN-bus will react, as it also have defective-bulb detection as well.

And I know from personal experiences that can create havoc, e.g. my factory-cruise control is adversely affected by my Kisan tailblazer.


Haakon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • Karma: +8/-1
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #11 on: February 17, 2014, 03:58:28 AM »
I am laying down, face in the mud  ;D
As I do not have a CAN-Bus bike to "play" with I can not say for sure.
That said, try think of this as any other directional signal flasher.
The most simple modification would be a signal delay.
You activate the directiona, right or leftl.
IF that signal is delayed or stopped untill the bike is in gear, clutch (handle released) and no brake is applied...
To do that is NOTtoo  dificult

 
2000 F650-GS

Inspector Gadget

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #12 on: February 17, 2014, 04:23:18 AM »
Hmm, good thinking outside the box!

It would require intercepting the neutral signal (from the dashboard, as the R1200 does not have a neutral switch), and/or clutch-signal, the brake-switches (front and foot, yes, two separate ones on the 1200RT) and "delay" those under certain circumstances being sent to the ZFE.

Something like an XOR and perhaps a Boolean AND, OR's, NOR's and NAND as well;

XOR:
0 + 0 = 0
0 + 1 = 1
1 + 0 = 1
1 + 1 = 0

AND:
0 + 0 = 0
0 + 1 = 0
1 + 0 = 0
1 + 1 = 1

And thus would be something like;
Neutral-Light AND Clutch-Switch XOR Front-brake Switch NOR Foot-brake Switch and so on.

I guess what the ZFE does also along those lines, but then takes (only) into account the distance travelled and the time.

I would need to sleep over it.  ;D

Haakon

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 145
  • Karma: +8/-1
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #13 on: February 17, 2014, 04:53:37 AM »
I am drowned and dead now- in the mud- by talking and not knowing :)
----------------
Ouch- yes I understand what you say.
I did not know it was a "complete" CanBus system.
I had a tiny hope it was only partial...
That said, it is better to go all the way than make a analog/ digital system.
Haakon

 
2000 F650-GS

Inspector Gadget

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 126
  • Karma: +6/-0
Re: Adjusting turn signal parameters?
« Reply #14 on: February 17, 2014, 03:15:48 PM »
I do apologize, I did not mean to overwhelm you, of course!

Yes, the R1200 could almost be described as software-on-wheels in that respect.
CAN-bus simplified many things, but when it comes to electronics, there is little one can do for modifications before CAN-bus (or another sub-system) alerts on that, possibly affecting the bike.
A solution and a curse at the same time, I suppose.  ;)

Hence the reason we all hope that HexCode can do something to adjust the parameters of the turn-signal system soonest.
(amongst other things, once they dive into that, grin)

Mind you, HexCode can already adjust the speedometer (miles/kilometres), of the instrument cluster (KOMBI).

So, I expect it will only be a matter of time.