Author Topic: New TPMS cant wake up  (Read 899 times)

Chetz86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
New TPMS cant wake up
« on: June 02, 2019, 11:55:08 AM »
Hi all,

I brought a new TPMS on AliExpress and planning avoiding to BMW Motorrad service center.

Item i prepare :
1. GS 911 system - already well install
2. New TPMS - 1 TPMS I already pull out the old battery
3. EL50448 Kingbolen wake up tools

Before dismantle my tyre , i try to wake up the TPMS and get the 7 digit code. But the tools cant read.

Did i miss any step ?

Tan

Jughead

  • Beta testers
  • Hero Member
  • *
  • Posts: 583
  • Karma: +40/-2
    • Dual Sport Motorcycle Clinic
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #1 on: June 03, 2019, 08:41:56 PM »
Is is possible that the tpms battery in the new unit is already dead. 

A client of mine needed new tpms units in his bike, so decided to order 12 from Aliexpress, use 2 himself and sell the remaining 10 at a small profit to recover the cost of the ones for his own bike.

Good plan, and it would have worked if he had received 12 working units.  Unluckily for him, of the 12 he received, only 3 worked.  The remainder were all dead.

Chetz86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #2 on: June 04, 2019, 05:41:54 AM »
OMG, only 3 pcs can use ya...

e7navy1999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #3 on: June 30, 2019, 05:14:34 PM »
The Alibaba TPMS code is NOT Numeric number.  it is hexadecimal .  You will have to convert it.  Try this link or google search a converter program.  http://www.unit-conversion.info/texttools/hexadecimal/

Chetz86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #4 on: July 02, 2019, 01:34:26 PM »
Hi, at last i using kawasaki tpms but it showing 4cabbb ? I got try 1website to convert to 7 digit but still cant learn by using gs911

e7navy1999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #5 on: July 02, 2019, 02:54:44 PM »
4CABBB   A=10, B=11, C=12, D=13 E=14, F=15
this would be:
4*16^5 = 4 * 1048576 = 4194304
C = 13 * 16^4 = 13 * 65536 = 851968
A= 10 * 16^3 = 10 * 4096 = 40960
B = 11 * 16^2 = 11 * 256 = 2816
B = 11 * 16^1 = 11 * 16 = 176
B = 11 * 16^0 = 11 = 11

ADD up total= 5090235 is your BMW TPMS Number

Please double check my math I suck at addition

schuppi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #6 on: July 02, 2019, 04:16:43 PM »
Hello

Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

e7navy1999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #7 on: July 02, 2019, 04:25:44 PM »
Thanks Schuppi, I must have really messed up in my math.  Your calculation are most likely more accurate than mine. 

e7navy1999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #8 on: July 02, 2019, 04:29:38 PM »
I did the math again....5024699  sorry

e7navy1999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #9 on: July 02, 2019, 04:42:36 PM »
For those of you taht are not understanding this whole TPMS conversation.  Some of us found that a BMW TPMS sensor is available from China for cheap.  Amazon sells them as well for $36 each.  Aliexpress has them for two for $36 ish free-ish freight. https://www.aliexpress.com/item/32912852754.html?spm=2114.search0204.3.58.643ab664rj6I80&ws_ab_test=searchweb0_0%2Csearchweb201602_5_10065_10130_10068_10547_319_10546_317_10548_10545_10696_10084_453_454_10083_10618_10307_537_536_10059_10884_10887_321_322_10103%2Csearchweb201603_55%2CppcSwitch_0&algo_expid=36ddf3e3-7e4a-44e6-be8b-da51d8feb5fd-9&algo_pvid=36ddf3e3-7e4a-44e6-be8b-da51d8feb5fd You will most likely have to bust out the epoxy and solder in a new battery as most of the batteries are very old.  Follow the numerous posts on this site.  The Chinese TPMS comes with a weird alpha numeric code which you have to convert to decimal.  Maybe a PIA but when BMW sells the same darn thing for $178 each I think it is worth the extra efforts.  A new battery is about $1.  The good thing is you will now have a TPMS where the battery can be changed every 4-5 years and only take s a few minutes.  You can also change out the battery in our OEM TPMS without all the conversion and re-learning headaches. 

schuppi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 375
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #10 on: July 02, 2019, 10:20:01 PM »
https://www.schradersensors.com/en-gb/our-products/motorcycle-tpms

These sensors are my first choice :), perfekt function, easy to adapt and less wight so that the
wheel balancing results with less wight.
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

Chetz86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #11 on: July 03, 2019, 11:55:27 AM »
Hi,

I already manually put 5024699 into the gs911 but still cant detect the sensor? Anyway to learn the sensor ?


Tan

e7navy1999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #12 on: July 03, 2019, 01:23:44 PM »
RU certain the battery is good? They are polarity sensitive as well so Neg/Positive must be correct.  Once the tire is rolling for about 1/8 mile-ish it will wake up if the battery is good.  When I have headaches such as this I go back to the basics.  Check battery with meter, check solder joints/polarity. maybe the little breather hold in the sensor has blockage?  Which batery did you use?  You have to buy the one with the leads or tabs already on the battery.  You can not solder directly to the battery as it most likely ruined it.  I used this battery but (ater you solder leads) you have to put shrink wrap all the way around it to prevnet it from shorting out   https://www.ebay.com/itm/TWO-CR2032-Lithium-Battery-with-solder-tabs-for-Super-Nintendo-NES-SNES-N64/283226327930?hash=item41f19acb7a:g:T3sAAOSwpwZb0Ivo
« Last Edit: July 03, 2019, 03:14:58 PM by e7navy1999 »

Chetz86

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 9
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #13 on: July 03, 2019, 05:44:59 PM »
Hi,

I already fade up with the alibaba sensor. That y i using kawasaki tpms . Once i manually key in the code (given at the forum)into the gs911( i already rewrite the original code), and i tie the sensor on the tyre and i start ride for a while. But the system still can detect the tyre air preasure.

e7navy1999

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 31
  • Karma: +1/-0
Re: New TPMS cant wake up
« Reply #14 on: July 03, 2019, 10:10:25 PM »
sorry to hear that.  Some riders have great luck with the Chinese TPMS.  Could be just a bad one made on a Monday