Author Topic: GS911 WiFi Utility  (Read 10531 times)

Inspector Gadget

GS911 WiFi Utility
« on: October 12, 2014, 05:53:20 AM »
Received today my GS911 Wifi, sleek!

Wanting to use also the WiFi connectivity, I used the GS911 WiFi Utility trying to configure the Wifi settings.
Meaning, infrastructure-mode, define a network that does not transmit its name (SSID).

Unfortunately, it seems that the WiFi Utility predominately wants to use WPA/WPA 2 encryption and no means to turn it off?
And it requires to also "see" the wireless network name, instead of allowing to enter one to be known but not actively broadcasting its network name?

Is there a way to change/turn-off the WPA/WPA 2 ?

Xchallenge

Re: GS911 WiFi Utility
« Reply #1 on: October 13, 2014, 12:43:09 PM »
I have no experience with the GS-911wifi-model but seriously, you should really consider to get your wifi up to at least the standard of 2004 and enable WPA 2. All equipment that doesn't support at least WPA should be thrown in the trashcan, where they belonged for the last 10 years.

I don't know if WPA is a requirement with GS-911wifi but if it is, that should be considered a feature rather than a flaw in my opinion.

Your "hidden" SSID is revealed to anybody that's slightly curious (not to mention everybody that really have the idea of misusing wifi-connections) as soon  as you have any traffic flowing. I'd say that a hidden SSID isn't even considered "security-by-obscurity" any more, it's only a hassle for legitimate users.

Some other information on the subject:
Should I hide my SSID?
Linksys have removed the option of hiding the SSID in later firmwares, because "There is no security benefit in hiding the SSID."

Inspector Gadget

« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2014, 01:59:25 PM »
If you believe WPA & WPA2 are secure, I'm afraid that is also not the case;
http://www.sciencedaily.com/releases/2014/03/140320100824.htm
&
http://netsecurity.about.com/od/secureyourwifinetwork/a/WPA2-Crack.htm