Author Topic: New RDC fault  (Read 4517 times)

fotodadi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
New RDC fault
« on: June 23, 2015, 07:54:49 PM »
Hi all,

Got the following off my 911 Wifi for my 2014 GS; 481F9A: Front tyre pressure sensor reception interference. Needless to say that my front tyre is throwing a fault. Anyone have any clue on what to do?

schuppi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: New RDC fault
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2015, 10:49:57 PM »
Hi
explanation: module gets no signal from front sensor
possible causes: general disturbance in reception or EMV problems. If there are no other faults stored, fault memory can be cleared.
                          fault maybe only sporadic.

Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

fotodadi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New RDC fault
« Reply #2 on: June 24, 2015, 11:41:56 AM »
Actually the full scan report has two faults being

481F8A: Tyre pressure sensor, front
   This fault occurred 16 times.
   The fault is not present now.
481F9A: Front tyre pressure sensor reception interference
   This fault occurred 13 times.
   The fault is not present now.

It also says the faults are "not present now" but they are present as soon as I start riding.

For some reason....my bike just doesn't see the front sensor. And this has been the situation for close to 3 months now. I wonder if I have a battery failure on that sensor. ::)

schuppi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: New RDC fault
« Reply #3 on: June 24, 2015, 11:53:11 AM »
https://en.wikipedia.org/?title=Electromagnetic_compatibility

By the way, is there any radiocommunication device added to your bike?  Perhaps your cellphone?
This will be the "trouble maker"  8)
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

fotodadi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New RDC fault
« Reply #4 on: June 24, 2015, 12:12:56 PM »
Thanks for your suggestions schuppi.

I have a question.
1. how come only the front gets interfered with and not both.

On the bike, I ride with my HTC one which I have been doing for over one year now since I bought this phone. I have also a SENA blue tooth in one helmet and the System 6 blue tooth on the other. I also have the Nav V running as devices go.

I have tried all combinations and cant seem to eliminate the culprit or find a pattern.

I am getting tired! LOL

schuppi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: New RDC fault
« Reply #5 on: June 24, 2015, 01:35:34 PM »
I have a question.
1. how come only the front gets interfered with and not both.

Hi,
can't figure it out. That is the fault discription by BMW Motorrad.
But, let me have a look on 481F8A: Tyre pressure sensor, front. Thats the first logged fault, maybe that will make it clear.

See you later 8)
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

fotodadi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New RDC fault
« Reply #6 on: June 24, 2015, 02:41:41 PM »
Thank you schuppi

schuppi

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 398
  • Karma: +13/-0
Re: New RDC fault
« Reply #7 on: June 24, 2015, 08:10:19 PM »
Here I am.

481F8A : wheel electronic front without function
condition for error memory entry: lost signal for longer than 10 min

please replace wheel electronic and learn, register the new one.
Schönen Tag
Wolfgang
                                       talk less, drive more

fotodadi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New RDC fault
« Reply #8 on: June 24, 2015, 10:58:22 PM »
Awesome. Thank you....so the hunt starts for this.

fotodadi

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 55
  • Karma: +0/-0
Re: New RDC fault
« Reply #9 on: July 11, 2015, 08:47:15 PM »
So with the pointer from Schuppi I decided on finding out more.

Seems the battery in my sensor is spent. Several videos abound on the internet detailing how the battery in the sensor can be replaced.

Apparently its not such a big deal and I replaced mine....and my RDC as now working ;D ;D ;D

However, the battery is a CR2050 and not a CR2032 as in the videos. The CR2032 battery I had on hand fitted but I am looking for the CR2050 and will have them as spares should anything go wrong.