Author Topic: GS-911.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close.  (Read 15695 times)

BicycleBoy

GS-911.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close.
« on: June 01, 2015, 04:34:20 PM »
I have been using my GS 911 for over 5 years and have been very happy with it. I just upgraded to software v1503.2 and now get the following message when I attempt to start the program: "GS-911.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." I have been using an older Dell laptop with Windows XP which I keep in the garage and is strictly dedicated for GS 911 use. Has anyone else experienced this issue with the new version? I checked older posts and tried a search to no avail. I also uninstalled the older version so I am out of luck in that respect. Can I download my prior version 1411? Where / how? HELP!!! I would truly appreciate any assistance / insight into this matter.   Thanks!

WayneC

• Beta testers
Re: GS-911.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close.
« Reply #1 on: June 02, 2015, 03:07:09 PM »
I have seen no reports of problems with XP, pretty sure I checked it was OK on my XP diags system, will recheck, there is another thread on 1503.2

http://forum.hexcode.co.za/forum/index.php/topic,850.0.html

I would suggest an uninstall and re install first, then think of where to go from there

BicycleBoy

« Reply #2 on: June 29, 2015, 10:56:02 PM »
Well folks, I have uninstalled / reinstalled software v1503.2 to no avail. I also tried the new beta version 1506.1 but continue to get the same error message, ie: "GS-911.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience." Strangely enough, I found the older v1303.3 in one of my backups which installed and ran without issue. Perhaps the newer versions are calling on a script or function which my laptop is no longer capable of? I guess my next course of action at this point will be a fresh install of Windows XP. Any other ideas are welcome.